No One Seizes The Day

I’m really bad with titles, so sorry if this is misleading. Here’s a segue. Richard Branson, one of my heroes, once said,

“Sleep is no one’s example of seizing the day.”

I read this this morning and it really stuck with me as it’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. How the choices we make each day affect the person we become and our life… it’s not the big choices you make, but the little ones you make every day, and I don’t know if I’m intentional enough with those decisions to do all the things I want to do and be all the things I want to be.

One of my favorite quotes is by Sylvia Plath. She says,

“I am gone quite mad with the knowledge of accepting the overwhelming number of things I can never know, places I can never go, and people I can never be.”

This quote really stands out to me, because that is exactly how I feel. Every single day. I know I’m “young” and all that, but I realize life is so short. Much too short for all the things I want to do. I’ve always been one to try to maximize my time and be as efficient as possible, but lately I’ve been thinking extra hard about it.

And not just about being more efficient… but about actually being effective. You know. Making a difference and doing the important things, rather than trying to do a thousand things just for the sake of doing them. And it’s hard. I don’t have the right answers. But life is short. I want to make the most of what I can. I want to leave a stamp on the world, make peoples’ days, and have enough adventure to last someone ten thousand lifetimes.

I’ve decided to start a “journey” of sorts. (Oh my gosh that sounds way too artsy and abstract for whatever I am actually trying to describe, but it might be the best word possible.) The “journey” to the best version of me (ugh… this sounds so hyper-spiritual or something). Not the perfect version of me, because that’s not going to happen, but to the best version of me that I can be. The most focused, most effective, most efficient, healthiest, wisest, and adventurest (yep that’s now a word) version of me that I can be.

Truth is, that’s hard for me, because sometimes, I don’t like who I am. Sometimes, I don’t like the way I think through things. I don’t like that I talk too much, or that I sometimes think out loud and take people on a maze through my mind. Sometimes, I don’t like that I’m freezing if it’s less than 70 degrees. Sometimes, I don’t like how hard I laugh at corny jokes. And sometimes, I don’t like that I have to constantly be busy and doing a thousand things at once. (It’s like 999 things is just too boring for me… Gotta have that thousandth thing.) But after 23 years, I’ve learned a few things, and one of those things is that there’s not a whole lot I can change about me, so rather than spending any more time in my life trying to ignore it, I’m gonna embrace it and be the best version of me that I can be. I have a lot more thoughts on this and how I’ve been approaching this, but I’ll start sharing that in another post.

Dr. Seuss said,

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

Which I think is his way of saying, “You be you, boo boo. Do your thing.” And what’s my thing? I don’t know. If you read my about page, when I started this blog over 4 years ago, I said “who exactly am I? Ah. But that is what I hope to learn.” Well, 4 years later, I’ve learned a few things, but I’m still learning, and I don’t think I’ll fully learn until I embrace. So here’s to trying new things, making everything I touch better, bringing joy to those around me, and maybe finding myself somewhere in all of that.

And I hope that you will be encouraged to do that, too. Find who you are, be yourself, and don’t waste a second of life. Don’t know your purpose? Me neither. But that doesn’t mean we can’t make the most of our days and enjoy every second of it til we do find out. So cheers to you in your journeys and me in mine.

Oh and speaking of myself. Here’s a picture of 4 year old Brittany that says it all. In all of my life, I’ve never found another picture that describes me so perfectly. I am still 4 year old Brittany, always smiling and ready to grab life by the horns. With my notepad, pencil, and my blue telescope toy.

baby britt

Comment here

