So maybe I haven’t blogged about anything in almost 6 months, but hey I’ve been busy graduating from school, planning a wedding, getting a job, and moving to Lexington. There’s not much to fill in on all of that, besides that it all happened and was wonderful. 🙂 It’s been a lot more work than I thought it would be… all of it. But I’ve decided that’s my first rule about the real world.

Real world rule #1: Everything is going to take 10 times longer than you expect, and cost you twice as much.

If you think I’m kidding, then give it a try. I know everyone always says the real world is hard and not like college and things are harder and expensive. But really. Sometimes I’d just like a couple days to go by where a random $100 expense doesn’t pop up. Or where it doesn’t take an hour to go run an errand that should take five minutes.

Anyways, the point of this post is not to complain. Stephen told me the other day that I should write a book called “How To Adult”, and it should basically be a checklist and how to guide of all the things that someone should do after they get married, or after they get out of college and have to go into the real world and be a real person. Not that I am by any means the expert on it, but I have discovered some things that I wish I’d have known a month ago. I wonder if maybe sharing that would be a helpful tool for people, but I’d have to spend some time thinking about how to format it. (This part is just me thinking out loud.) I’m probably going to try to start collecting some of my thoughts on here, and then I’ll go through it at some point and compile and elaborate, but here are a couple real world rules I’ve discovered so far.

  • Real World Rule #2: Always remember RWR #1, and stop being surprised or disappointed when it is true every time.
  • RWR #1828: It’s okay to pack lunch.
  • RWR #2563: Assembly required furniture really does require assembly, is probably missing a couple parts, or the measurements are slighlty off somewhere. It won’t go together perfectly and that just needs to be accepted.
  • RWR #6657: If you’re not in a hurry, don’t use the GPS. Learn your way around.

Eh that’s all for now.

Comment here

