At the risk of my blog potentially sounding like a journal entry (and not the accounting kind), I still want to chronicle some of the things I learned from last semester. Looking through some of my past blog posts has encouraged me that I actually have learned some things and grown in some ways over time, and it’s important to reflect on those things. I often remind myself of my blog post It’s Okay To Get a B when I feel like I should be studying more instead of spending time with people or doing fun things. I wrote that blog post as a sophomore, and even now that I’m a senior, my GPA hasn’t plummeted as a result of that blog post. So here are a couple of my thoughts from this previous semester that I hope to apply to the rest of my life.

Everything Really Will Work Out As It Should

This semester has been a good learning time of finding that everything is going to happen as it should. Let me explain what I mean. I don’t mean that we should be irresponsible. I don’t mean that we shouldn’t evaluate our decisions and try to make the best one. I definitely don’t mean that we should intentionally make bad decisions. However, I have adopted a philosophy of accepting that what is meant to be is going to happen. I’m going to end up putting the amount of work and effort into something, and that effort is going to be the “right” kind of effort, and the result that happens is going to be what was supposed to happen. I just find this sort of comforting. It’s kinda like the “do your best and trust God with the rest” kind of idea. I do what I can and just sort of trust that it’ll be what it’s going to be. This doesn’t always make me feel better. I still stress about things. But I have seen examples of this all semester, from tests that I didn’t actually get time to study for, but they ended up being okay, to a million other things.

I actually have a broken key on my key chain to remind me of this. It’s a funny story. At the beginning of the semester, I went to go get my futon from storage and I figured I could get it in the car by myself. I tried so hard. But the stupid thing was so awkwardly shaped and kept folding and moving. At one point I dropped it on the lock for the storage unit, which had the key in it. I didn’t think much of it, because I was busy struggling with the futon. Several minutes later, I still couldn’t get the futon in, and I was running out of ideas. Then a random man at the storage unit came over and helped me out. As I was about to leave, I realized I’d broken the key and the lock. I had to go get a new lock. But I still keep that old broken key on my key ring as a reminder that if I do what I can, somehow things will work out.

I Don’t Really Know How To Study

I feel like I spent the first three years of college learning how to study. And then I’m not sure what happened, but I don’t really know how to study anymore. I know how to learn things. And I can still memorize things. But when it comes time for a test, I either know it or I don’t. I think a big part of this is that my classes were very concept-based this semester, so once I learned how to do a problem, I knew how to do it. There was no studying or memorizing facts. It was just understanding how the problem worked and being able to replicate it. I would work hard in my classes and do the homework, read the chapters in the book, look for outside sources when I was confused… but when it came to be test time, even when I had time to study, I couldn’t study for long without getting bored.

Patience, Young Grasshopper

I don’t even know where this quote comes from. But it felt appropriate. I’ve slowly started to learn a little bit about waiting. I still have a long way to go. Very long way. But I think part of it has been that life has come at me so quickly and with such full force this semester, that sometimes, I just don’t have the energy to stress about something else happening right at the moment. But no worries- 9/10 times, I still make time for that stress. But that 1 out of 10 times that I just let it go and wait… let’s just celebrate that for now.

Leading Isn’t About Micromanaging But Actually About Helping

I think my role in student government has changed a lot this year. As Student Body President, you’d think I’d be in charge of all the things. While technically I am, really my job has become more of helping people who I put in charge. It’s been hard in some ways, because I like things to be done right, and sometimes I just assume I’m the only one who can do them right. So, my natural instinct is to micromanage people. But this year, I’ve tried really hard to put the right people in charge, and then check in with them and see what I can do to help them do their job, rather than take it over. It’s definitely been a learning experience.

People Are Awesome

This isn’t exactly a new lesson. I already knew this. This semester has only emphasized it even more. I have some truly awesome people in my life. I am going to miss a lot of people dearly in 5 months when I have to say goodbye indefinitely. But there are people who I know the miles apart won’t mean anything at all and we will be just as close as ever, and things truly will be okay.

I have a feeling next semester is going to be quite a learning semester, as well, so stay tuned for updates.

Comment here

