I miss blogging for the fun of it. I really do! I enjoyed my advertising class this semester, but I felt like I never got to blog except for my assignments (which were interesting, by the way, so I encourage you to read them if you haven’t already. Oh, and I got an A in the class, so at least my professor thought they were good quality šŸ™‚ ). But now it’s summer, and theoretically, I have all the time for all the things, right?

But really, I want to do a better job of keeping up with my blog this summer. I know this is going to be an interesting summer, for a couple of reasons:

  • I’m only working three days a week.
  • I’m studying for the LSAT.
  • I’m reviewing my old accounting textbook to prepare for my accounting classes in the fall.
  • I’m going to read a good bit. Hopefully.
  • I’m going to practice cooking!
  • I might learn programming.
  • I’m making time for adventures.
  • I’m living with one of my best friends.

Let me detail these, just to give you a little context about what I’ll most likely be blogging about this summer.

Work

I work for a small marketing agency in Williamsburg, called Proximo Marketing Strategies. I started working for them this time last year, and have been with them ever since working as head of social media and blogging for our clients. I worked for about 30 hours a week last summer, and 10 hours a week during the school year, and am now working 24 hours a week. I have interns who help me with my work, and I get to do a lot of cool stuff. I also work with some really awesome people. So if you ever need any marketing help, let me know. šŸ™‚

LSAT

studying for LSAT
Graham the Cat “helping” me study for the LSAT, by laying on my book.

I’ve always thought this test would be kind of fun to take. Why not? It’s a bunch of logic and reasoning and problem solving (along with a little reading comprehension). What’s not fun about that? I have some extra time to study. Why not?

Accounting

So, recently, I’ve become frustrated with marketing. Don’t get me wrong- I love it. I love seeing businesses grow and I think marketing (by definition) is there to grow a company and increase their business. However, sometimes I get tired with how theoretical it can be. My mind craves logic and rules, and marketing doesn’t always give us that. So to balance out my mind a little, I’ve added on an accounting minor. (No worries- still Marketing Major.) I’d only need a few more classes, and I figured those classes would challenge me a little more than my communications minor. So, once again, why not?

Cooking

egg and bacon pie
Egg and Bacon Pie

I’m going to be living in an apartment next year, so now is a good time to practice cooking right?? I made egg and bacon pie tonight (my favorite recipe from my mom) and it turned out pretty well. So stay tuned. Monday night is my dinner night.

Reading

I plan to review the books I read, just like I did last summer. I have a huge reading list, and I know I won’t make it through all of the books on there. But I will attempt to make it through as many as I can before the end of summer.

Programming

By this point, you’re probably wondering what I do to relax for summer. Those of you who know me, know that a relaxed Brittany just merely means “working at something else”. I didn’t want to get bored this summer, what with only working for three days a week, so I decided to pick up a little extra fun. I like to learn new skills and I think programming will be a useful skill. Honestly, though, this is a pretty low priority on the totem pole, so we’ll see how it goes.

Adventures

I get bored easily. So sometimes, I need to go on adventures. I like to see new things. I like to put myself in situations where I might not be comfortable, or where I might have to develop a skill I’ve never used before. I like to experience things. So this summer, I have a good deal of adventures lined up. I’m planning to make a couple road trips. I’m planning to go camping on the beach. I’m planning a trip to DC; Lexington, KY; , Charlotte, NC; Maryville, TN; and another one to DC before I stop at home for a few days to mark the end of summer. I’m planning to take a couple of days to just adventure, whatever that might look like… sometimes the best adventures are impromptu ones that aren’t planned. I’ll make sure to take pictures and keep you updated.

Best Friend

me
This is my second summer in Williamsburg, VA, and one of my closest friends lives here. She’s actually the reason I’m here. That’s a long story that I’m pretty sure I outlined in a past blog post somewhere. Feel free to go dig around for it. šŸ™‚ Corinne graduated this year (a year early), and this summer is pretty much my last couple of months with her. While on the one hand, I’m really excited for the fall, I also don’t want to wish this summer away, because I know at the end of it, that means I have to say goodbye. And goodbyes make me sad. So I’m going to try not to think about it until it comes. Until then, adventure and much fun lies ahead for me and Corinne.

So there you have it. And now summer can officially begin, since I wrote a blog post about it.

Comment here

