So this summer has been the first time in a while (and by a while, I mean about two years) that I’ve actually been able to set aside some time to do some reading. I’ve learned so speed read because I’m so eager to make it through as much of my list as I can. I hate reading a really cool book and forgetting all about it, so I thought that I’d make a post showing what I’ve read to help me recap. Also, maybe some of you, my friends, are looking for something to read, and I pretty much recommend everything on this list. (Or most of them- you’ll see which ones I’m not such a fan of after reading them.) WARNING: I am a business major. I like efficiency. I like improving things. I like practicality. Therefore, I mainly read mostly non-fiction, and most of what I read is related to business. BUT that doesn’t mean it’s boring to non-business people!

Purple Cow

by Seth Godin

purple cow review
This book is incredible. My awesome accounting professor let me borrow it, because it’s an incredible book and I’ve been wanting to read it for a while. But basically, this book talks about how it’s important to stand out these days. You have to be remarkable. If you’re just like everyone else, then you’re just that- and you should expect (at best) mediocre results. This mainly applies to businesses and marketing strategies, but also for the individual. (Hint- those looking for jobs in a few years! You’ll basically be marketing yourself. Might want to make sure you know how to stand out for employers.)
Want a Copy? Get it on Amazon – or check out your local library.

Don’t Waste Your Life

by John Piper

don't waste your life review
Eh so I don’t read a whole lot of books like this, so I really don’t have much to compare it to. But it was really eye opening and reminding me that in life, we’re taught a million things matter and we have to juggle it all. But really, the most important thing is to make sure we’re glorifying God. For me, this sort of translated to remember to put God first, others second, and myself last.
This is also on Amazon! or you can your local library.

Me 2.0

by Dan Schawbel

me 20 dan schawbel review
I kind of skimmed through this book, because it’s pretty familiar to with me as I’ve bee taught and studying how to prepare yourself to get a job for quite a while. Not saying it’s an easy process or that I know it all, but a lot of what the book said was pretty familiar. That being said- if you want to make sure you’re preparing to get a job one day, then you might want to read this if you aren’t sure what all you need to be doing. (You can also check out College Junction, my website, to get more info on how to get a job.
Here’s the book on Amazon. (Don’t forget about your library if you don’t want to spend money!)

Age of Reason

by Jean Paul Sartre

age of reason review
Last semester, we studied Existentialism and Jean Paul Sartre in humanities. It was a lecture that really got me thinking and I’m the kind of person that when I have a question, I have to research it and find some answers. (This is partially what makes me good at what I do, but it can also be a real pain in the butt when it comes to trusting people and ideas.) It was a pretty long read, and (full disclosure here) I didn’t finish it. But I read enough to get the point they were making with it as it’s a novel about existentialism. It was interesting, to say the least. But if anything, just leads me to think that it doesn’t make as much as I thought it once made. But that’s another discussion for another day… don’t want to start that topic here right now.
Eh. It’s also on Amazon.

Animal Farm

by George Orwell

animal farm review
This book was a fast read, and useful if you haven’t read anything like it. I don’t want to say a whole lot because if you haven’t read it, it will spoil it. But just sit back and imagine what happens when a farm of animals overthrow the human farm owners and start to rule the farm on their own. Then… imagine what happens when it turns into one animal telling everyone else to blindly follow him. Yeah- you can see where that’s going.
To read this classic, you can find it on Amazon! or your local library.

Contagious

by Jonah Berger

contagious book review
This book in INCREDIBLE. I highly recommend it to anyone who deals with people. I’ve really started getting into these human behavior books lately. One of my bosses recommended this book so I decided to check it out. It’s about why things become popular and contagious. It goes through 6 elements of virality. So whether you have a product, brand, idea, video, or ANYTHING that you want to be “contagious”, this book will show you what makes people share. A must read for any business or marketing person, and useful for anyone else working with people and promoting ideas.
Definitely go check this out on Amazon or your library!

The E-Myth Revisited

by Michael Gerber

e myth revisited book review
This book helps explain why so many small businesses fail. If you’ve ever thought of starting your own business, or if you have started your own business and aren’t enjoying it like you thought you would, then you should read this book. It’s really useful to help explain why people start businesses for the wrong reasons and don’t properly manage themselves, causing their business (and consequently many other parts of their life) to suffer.
Also on Amazon! and hopefully at your local library.

Predictably Irrational

by Dan Ariely

predictably irrational book review
If you followed my advice and read “Contagious”, then this book will be a quick skim for your because they’re very similar. Another book about human behavior and why people do what they do. It’s a good guide for business people, as it helps to understand how consumers make choices. Also, a good book for anyone else to help you realize how many decisions you make that are totally irrational, such as being more likely to buy from someone wearing a navy suit than a brown one. Think that’s not true? Check out this book to learn more.
Check out this link to get it on Amazon or just visit the library and see if it’s there.

So that’s all I can think of right now. I’ve still got a few more to read over the next few weeks before my life gets crazy busy again. I’ll try to fill you in on all of those. But I hope you guys can find something useful on this list. If not, post on here and tell me what you’re reading! I’m interested in seeing what else should be on my reading list.

Comment here

