free speech
Whoa. Parks and Recreation- episode just blew my mind.

It’s the episode in season 2 where ambassadors from Venezuela come to Pawnee and see how they run things. Leslie brings them to a town hall meeting and, as per usual, everyone is yelling and complaining about things they hate in their town. It’s not like people are quietly addressing issues…

they are literally yelling and screaming about things

that they don’t like and want to see changed now. Then, the cameras cut away to interview the Venezuelans and they’re like “In our country, people would go to jail. People could not get up and talk like that. That is so rude. We have much better order. They would be hauled off to jail.” And it made me think. They’re so right. I wish people would realize that, including myself. I have the right to freedom of speech. That means that I can whine and complain about anything I want, wherever I want, whenever I want. And that’s such a special right that so many people around the world don’t have. This should make me want to present my ideas and speak in a gentle way… knowing that even if I was mad and shouting, I still wouldn’t get arrested. I can oppose ideas in a polite fashion and be respected, rather than hauled off to jail. So. I should

make sure I complain respectfully

Even when I complain about the little things. Like caf food.

Why not?

Comment here

