“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift. That’s why it’s called the present.”

It’s a famous quote. And it’s honestly not hard to understand. It makes complete sense. But why is it so hard to apply this?

I find that if I’m not worrying about the future and what things will be like a few years, months, or even just days, down the road, then I’m thinking about sometime in the past and wondering why I took for granted those awesome times in life. Then I realize that it’s because at that time, I was too busy worrying about how things would work out right now, at this stage in my life. And in a few months, I’ll just be looking back wondering why I didn’t spend more time just enjoying where I am.

So, I get the concept. I don’t deny it being true. But why do I struggle to live it? How do I live it? Everyone says “live in the moment”, but just how does one do that exactly? How do I sit in my classes and wish that the hour would hurry up? How do I not spend each week counting down to the weekend? How do I get out of that mindset?

Ha. I don’t actually have an answer for that. 🙂 Like a lot of things in life. I’m full of questions. It’s answers that I’m not so good at finding :/

Comment here

