grades
I should be studying for my Economics test right now. But hey, I’ve already got an 81 on my humanities test. What’s another less-than-A grade gonna do. πŸ™‚

Actually I’ve come to this realization this past weekend: while it’s important to study and do well, there are other priorities. Somethings just aren’t worth stressing out about. There’s a difference between preparing and freaking out… and I personally struggle to find that line.

For example, last night my best friend and I literally stayed up until 5 in the morning talking about God and different things we’ve been going through and thinking through in our lives and relationships and our faith. And it was incredible! Sure, maybe I shouldn’t have stayed up so late the night before my Econ test. But… in a year from now, what’s going to matter more? My econ test? Or my relationship with Keara?

I’ve always been obsessed with trying to do incredibly well in school. If I don’t make an A, it’s not okay. While I want to do well, and I want to learn, I’ve realized part of that “learning” takes place outside of my textbook and my classes. While I’m not giving up on my classes, I’m going to make sure I’m not letting go of the rest of my life. I know that’s going to be an important lesson to learn as I eventually enter the workforce one day. I will be a good employee, manager, CEO, marketer, microfinancer, whatever I end up doing. I will give 110% to my job. But I will not sacrifice all of my relationships for it.

So. That being said. I’m trying not to stress, but even just today when I discovered I earned a B on my humanities test, my first instinct was to be disappointed in myself. But why? I tried. I gave it what I could. It was a hard test. Yeah I got a B, but I’m still in school. God’s still taking care of me. My family still loves me πŸ™‚ I still have the greatest friends I could ever ask for. I’m paying my bills. It’s really okay.

So here’s to no stress. And the fact that it’s an issue I need to work on.

2 thoughts on “Eh. It’s okay to get a B.

Comment here

