I’ve never really been very passionate about writing papers. Okay… I’ve never been very passionate about writing papers at all. However, for the first time, I actually have enjoyed spending close to 15 hours (if not more) researching and writing a paper about microfinancing.  I don’t know how many of you know what microfinancing is exactly, so I will explain before we go any further. Microfinancing is basically a bank for the poor. They offer banking services and loans to those who typically cannot afford to go to national or bigger banks. Maybe this sounds like a boring idea, but let me explain the potential. Ever since high school, I’ve studied poverty and been thinking that there has to be a better solution than foreign aid. There has to be a better way to help the poor than to just send money or give out handouts. There are some people who truly need this and some people that it really helps, but what about every one else? What about helping the poor to generate an income for themselves? Maybe you’ve heard the famous Chinese proverb, “If you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day. Teach a man how to fish, and you feed him for a life time.” Ever since I heard that proverb, it’s changed the way that I think about poverty. I don’t think it’s a good idea to send money overseas and to developing countries to help the poor. Rather, I think it’s better for us to help the poor fish. Teach them how to start their own businesses and give them the opportunity to generate an income for themselves. Then, not only are they taking care of themselves and their family, but they are also putting money into their nation’s economy, which will strengthen the nation and help it to grow.

This is what my final research paper for my composition class has been about. I have been discussing Microfinance Institutes (MFIs) and specifically I’ve been discussing why for-profit MFIs are a good idea. I know this is a very controversial subject, and if anyone is interested in or willing to hear me out, then comment on here and I’ll happily send you a copy once my paper is complete.

It just makes me excited about the possibilities to help with poverty. There’s actually something we can do to help. We don’t have to go around to a million people across America and ask for money to send overseas. We just need to be willing to help the poor fish. Teach them how to run businesses. Give them funds to get started, then keep them accountable to generate income to pay back those funds! This makes me really excited and I’m quickly becoming very passionate about it all. I’m actually starting to look for internships in microfinancing for this coming summer. Excited to see what God has for me and what He wants to show me in this field.

Comment here

