For some reason, all of today, one thing has been on my mind consistently throughout the entire day. I am extremely blessed with so many wonderful people in my life. I don’t deserve all the wonderful people God has given me. Throughout my entire life, not even just now. I have an amazing family, a wonderful boyfriend, three really close friends here with me at school, and a handful of great friends back home. Along with so many other wonderful people that are a part of my life. Honestly, there are many wonderful people that have been a part of my life in the past that aren’t really a part of my life anymore. But I’m still thankful for the part of my life that they were in and the affect they still have on me.

Even now in my life, I still have many wonderful people, and I’m so thankful that God put us together. When I think about how big the world is and how little I am, it just kind of amazes me that God would put us all in the same corner. My family. I’m adopted. They’re from South Africa!! I met my mom because she was my teacher. God brought them all the way from across the world right to Knoxville. I met Alicen in the worship service on campus the day after I first came to school here. She knew my roommate because they were both on the dance team and my roomie introduced us. A year later, we’re best friends and now we’re roommates. 🙂 Keara and Corinne randomly walked into my room on the second day I was here, too. Doors have hinges in my old dorm, so it was rare that we ever could get the door to stay propped open because they were/are really heavy doors. But that one day, Anna (my old roommate) and I had the doors propped open, and Keara and Corinne randomly wandered in. Now, they’re two of my best friends in the entire world, and I know I can trust them and they always have my back and they love me. My boyfriend randomly walked up to my dorm lobby that second day after I came up to school, too. Of course, he wasn’t my boyfriend at the time. He was just a sophomore hanging out with a group of his friends and they thought they’d see what was going on in Sutton (my dorm). (What was going on was I was having a party for all of the freshmen like myself who wanted to hang out and meet people.) No matter how much I was scared and tried to push him away and out of my mind, he never left. And now, we’re dating, and I can honestly say that I know I love him.

I don’t know why I’m so blessed. I don’t know why I have such good friends. But I am super thankful, and I am so sorry for the people in the world who don’t have that. I know there are people who don’t have a family, or even good friends that they can turn to or that they want to turn to. Friends they can share their deepest secrets with, friends they can laugh about anything and everything with, friends who will snuggle with them and share secrets and stories, friends who will snap at each other and then laugh at the stupid things they fight over, friends who help them put everything into perspective.

Yeah. My life is pretty great. I’m sorry I spend so much time whining and complaining. Sometimes, I really need to grow up! I’ve decided to start a new thing. Since I struggle so much with being ungrateful sometimes, and I have no reason to complain and whine, I’m going to try my best to start this new thing: Each morning, I’m going to write down one thing I’m really thankful for. And then when I’m tempted to whine throughout the day, I’m going to try to picture my life without whatever that thing or person is and then realize that life’s not that bad. At the end of the day, I’m going to write one thing I learned that day. I think it’ll be an interesting project. And maybe help me keep my mind on things above and not on things on the earth.

Meanwhile. I will go watch Shark Tank, finish my laundry, get ready for bed, and prepare for an amazing week that is going to lead up to an AWESOME WEEKEND WITH MY BEST FRIEND AND BOYFRIEND!!!!!!

Comment here

