Well, I’m officially half way through my summer, and this is one of the first times I’m actually getting the chance to really sit down and write. Honestly, there’s about twenty other things I should be doing right now, but I knew I needed to take a quick moment.

Living in DC is truly amazing. This whole summer has been amazing. It’s been an experience that has changed me in a lot of different ways. Mainly, it’s made me really thankful for what I have and who I am, and it’s also helped me grow up a lot. I’ve started really learning what it’s like to rely on God’s strength and take each day one day at a time. I can’t say my job has been easy. That wouldn’t be true at all. But I can totally say it’s been worth it. When a student tells you they are so glad they picked your committee and that they had an awesome time throughout the week, when you’re delegates tell you they love you and you’re the best PA then they ALL (6 of them hahah) put their name down as interested in becoming PA’s in the future, when you get to bond with the 8 other people you work with like a big family even though you all come from totally different backgrounds and worldviews, and just laughing and growing together with everyone. Each day presents something new. Like I said, it’s never easy, but it’s always an experience.

I can’t believe I’ve already been up here for 6 weeks. It seemed like forever at first, and honestly, it’s felt like 6 weeks hahah, but nevertheless, as much as I am excited for the end of July and going home and going back to school, I’m really going to miss it here. A lot. Especially the people. I had the realization at some point yesterday that most of these people, I’ll probably never see again. It’s not like school where we’ll all leave then come back together in a few months. Saying good bye is going to be hard!

But alas, it’s not time to think about that yet. Meanwhile, I’ve decided to live each day in the present. Instead of counting down until the weekend, or until the next day, I’m going to seriously put myself entirely into each day. Someone once said, “Wherever you are, be all there.” That was my motto when I left home and went to school, and it’s still my motto while I’m here. I’m going to be in each day, and give my all in each workshop, each tour, each committee meeting, and everything in between. My energy is low? Well. I better find something to get it back up. 🙂

Comment here

